A Day In The Life Of A Church Planter

So I’m sitting here at Mitchell’s Coffeehouse (my "central office") in downtown Lakeland jamming to Queen’s "The Game" album on my iPod and checking email.  Life is good!  God is even better!!!

Anyway, I get this email from a guy getting ready to plant a church in Canada and he asked me about my typical day as a church planter.  In honesty, there is no "typical day". Most days are 12 to 14 hours long for a church planter and each week inolves around 60 to 65 hours.  However, I’ll fill you in on my schedule for today.  It’s about as "typical" as it gets.

SEPTEMBER 14, 2006

6:30 – 7:00 AM:  Get up, take a shower and grab some breakfast

7:00 – 7:30 AM:  Quiet time and reflective personal worship on my back porch.

7:30 – 8:00 AM:  Brave traffic to get my wife to work.

8:00 – 8:15 AM:  Catch up on news via CNN podcast on the way to get coffee at Mitchell’s.

8:15 – 9:45 AM:
  Check & answer email, update MySpace page, post to blog, read other blogs, chit chat with Compass Point folks that drop in

9:45 – 10:15 AM:  Meet with Mitch (Mitchell’s owner) about upcoming unplugged concert of local artists we are sponsoring at the coffeehouse.

10:15 – 10:30 AM:  Head to South Florida Baptist Association office for meeting.  Make phone calls on the way.

10:30 AM – 12:00 PM: Associational missions committee meeting.

12:00 -12:30 PM: Head to "south office" – Panera Bread,  listen to Relevant Mag podcast along the way.

12:30 – 1:30 PM: Listen to Erwin McManus sermon via Mosaic podcast while sipping hot tea.  I try to listen to him and Al Mohler (seminary weekly chapel podcast) every week for my own spiritual feeding.  I also hit Piper, Driscoll and Mckinley (Imago Dei) when I can.

1:30 – 3:30 PM:  Polish upcoming sermon while watching people come through Panera Bread.  I love to visually see the people I might be preaching to on Sunday.  It really helps me keep focused on what it’s all about.

3:30 – 4:00 PM:  Head to "north office" – Starbucks (St. Arbucks) to hang out with some Compass Point college students.

4:00 – 5:00 PM:  Hang out an gab with college students.  I love doing this.  They are always so cool about introducing me to their friends which usually leads to some new folks visiting Compass Point on Sunday.

5:00 – 5:30 PM:  Brave traffic to pick wife up from work.  Make call to Compass Point leader about details for upcoming Compass Point servant outreach – giving out bottled water at local sportsfield.

5:30 – 6:00 PM:  Pick up wife, drop by FedEx/Kinkos to pick up Sunday’s bulletin and head to church planter’s meeting.

6:00 – 7:00 PM:  Hang out at Rib Crib with other Central Florida church planters while my wife engages in her "shopping ministry" at the Target next door.

7:00 – 7:30 PM:  Pick up some Compass Point leaders to join my wife and I at the Florida premier of the "Invisible Children" movie.

7:30 – 8:00 PM:  Listen to the Brackston Hicks open the premier (Compass Point’s dobro player is a member of the band).

8:00 – 10:00 PM:  Watch the movie and participate in the Q&A afterward.

10:30 – 11:00 PM:  Get the leadership home and head for the house

11:00 – 11:30 PM:  Check and answer email again, update MySpace and make one last check of the day’s headlines on CNN.

11:30 PM – 12:00 AM:  Prayer time with the wife.

12:00 – 12:30 AM:  Wife heads to bed while I watch reruns of "Becker".

12:30 AM – 1:30 AM:  Read something.

1:30 AM:  My normal bedtime . . .

A Day In The Life Of A Church Planter