Mark Richt

While demons would wear jackets in hell quicker that I’d ever become a Georgia Bulldog fan, I have to admit . . . I’m incredibly impressed with their football coach, Mark Richt.

I was sitting here watching ABC’s presentation of the Liberty Mutual Coach Of The Year, in which they are profiling Coach Richt.  The man is a class act!  His team builds homes for Habitat For Humanity, they are encouraged to be winners off the field and academics is the top thing for his players.  Beyond all of that, he just gave one of the most clear and uncompromising presentations of the Gospel that I’ve ever heard ON NATIONAL TELEVISION!

Coach Richt’s entire interview was basically about his relationship with Christ, his relationship with his wife, relationship with his kids and his relationship with "his boys" on the team.  I honestly got a sense, that while winning is important, it was not the main thing.  He never gave some arrogant, "this-is-how-you-win" speech (a la Steve Spurrier), it was always how his relationship with Christ affects his relationship with others.  Talk about a true testimony.

I know Gary is going to have a field day with this posting.  However, it is good – in today’s win-at-all-costs climate – to see a coach in college football with a greater passion for other less-worldly things!

Mark Richt