Tonight’s Musical Selection

B0000025jn01_ss500_sclzzzzzzz_v52795526_I know this may shock some readers of my blog, but I do listen to quite a diverse selection of music each day.  While I lean more towards classic rock and blues, I love great music – any great music.

When I was growing up my Dad exposed me to many styles of music.  Everything from The Doobie Brothers to Don Williams to Jerry Lee Lewis to KISS to Herb Alpert to Muddy Waters and even classical.

Many times each week – especially when I’m needing to calm my ADD – I listen to classical.  While I like the classics – Bach, Beethoven, Gershwin, Chopin, Mozart, etc. – it is the power of Mussorgsky that I love the most.  I think if he were alive today that he’d give Metallica and Motorhead a run for their money.

I also love the conducting of Leonard Bernstein.  He had an incredible ear and perfect pitch.  Stories about the detail of which he would listen and the things he’d hear while conducting an orchestra are legendary.  He was quite extraordinary!

This particular recording is my all time favorite classical album.  It combines the power of Mussorgsky with the perfection of Berstein.  Also, the New York Philharmonic has got some serious game!  Quite simply it is as close to flawless as classical music can get.

Since television sucks tonight I will kick back, listen to some Mussorgsky, blog a little and just relax!  All in all, it’s been a pretty laid-back day.

Tonight’s Musical Selection