I’m Digging This Book

Simple_churchI’m not a big fan of books on leadership, church growth or how-to books for churches.  However, I’m totally digging Simple Church: Returning To God’s Process For Making Disciples by Thom Rainer and Eric Geiger.  One of my favorite bloggers, Ben Arment has been blogging about this book over the last two weeks.  Simple Church is really straight forward and has some fairly revolutionary ideas about simplicity in making disciples.

Compass Point has suscribed to the "simple church" mentality since we began almost three years ago.  I’ve taken some hits from denominational leaders for our "simple" approach to things.  Yet, for us, it works.  It also lends itself to longevity.  We have always concentrated on a simple process since day one.  We have not had explosive growth over the years, but we have had steady growth.  At no time has Compass Point experience a loss in attenders or took any steps backwards.  I attribute this to God’s providence, incredible volunteer leaders that are constantly seeking God’s direction and keeping things simple.

I would suggest all church planters or lead pastors check out Simple Church.  It is well worth your time to read it.

I’m Digging This Book

One thought on “I’m Digging This Book

Comments are closed.