Got Back From The Keys

102_3536_1Denise and I got back from the Florida Keys last night.  We had a restful and relaxing time.  A couple of times a year we just try to get away in order to regroup – this was that kind of trip.  When we go on these "retreats" we don’t really have a plan or agenda – other than to unwind.  We talk, hang out, read books, listen to music and well . . . do other couple stuff.  In the world of church planting it is important to take time off and go do couple stuff.  I have always said that you can always plant another church, you can’t always find another spouse.  In essence, it’s easier to go through the death of a church than the death of a marriage!

The picture is of us standing next to the marker for the southern most part of the United States in Key West.  In the picture, we are actually closer to Cuba than Miami.  We didn’t stay in Key West, but drove down to it.  It was a pretty drive, but I’d probably never go back to Key West.  It’s one huge tourist’s trap.  It reminded me of Bourbon Street in New Orleans. Bars, clubs and gay hangouts everywhere.  Not really our cup-o-tea, but was fun to see never the less.

In continuing with our "vacation", Denise and I will work the nursery this Sunday.  I’ve got Bob Siegel preaching for me.  He’s one of our elders and super nice guy.  His understanding of Scripture is incredible.  It’s great to know that I don’t have to be the guy in the pulpit every single Sunday.  I miss it, but it’s good to take a break and not preach every Sunday.

Got Back From The Keys