President Ford

Newt1_g_ford_obitIt’s around 3:00 AM and I just caught the news on CNN that President Ford passed away. 

When I was in fourth grade my grandfather checked me out of school to go to Barksdale Air Force Base for President Ford’s arrival in Shreveport-Bossier City on a campaign stop.  I can still remember how cool it looked when Air Force One pulled up.  We were told he’d do a quick wave then be wisked away in a limo to fundraiser downtown.  Instead he stepped off the plane and proceeded to work the rope line for a good forty-five minutes.  Because of my grandfather’s security clearance I was right on the rope and got to shake President Ford’s hand.  When you’re nine-years-old there is no greater feeling in the world than to shake the hand of a sitting President.

Since that time I have met several current and former U.S. Presidents, but nothing can compare to that first time with President Ford.  I don’t know about the rest world, but he will be missed in the Elrod household!

President Ford