Warren Zevon And A New PDA

Warren_zevon_the_wind_1So I’m in kind of the after-Christmas, nothing-much-is-happening, lazy kind of mood today.  I’ve done a little house cleaning, organized some of the crap on my desk and ate lunch (a little personal recipe I like to call "hot dog in a bowl").  Now I’m just sitting back waiting for the Independence Bowl to start and chilling out to Warren Zevon’s "The Wind" compact disc.

Recorded after he was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer, Warren was in the last stages of his life.  It is one of the most honest (there’s that theme again) and timeless music projects I’ve ever encountered.  "Keep Me In Your Heart" is one of the songs we play at Compass Point after the service and it always brings a tear to my eye.  Zevon and "The Wind" is always inspiring in that it was written and recorded with so little time and so much still left to say.  If only I had that kind of urgency when I speak and communicate?!?!

I also did something yesterday I never thought I’d do…I ditched my Palm Tungsten E.  Several times over the last year it has crashed while I was one the road or away from my home.  It really sucks because – being ADD – I live by that thing.  When it crashes, I crash!!!

Anyway, I have committed to stop using so much digital stuff because of the unreliability.  So I’m giving the whole HipsterPDA thing a try.  You know, where everything is kept on 3×5 index cards.  The jury is still out, but so far so good.  It does lend itself to doing the Getting Things Done process better, so we’ll see.

Warren Zevon And A New PDA

3 thoughts on “Warren Zevon And A New PDA

  1. sweet, I knew I liked you. Have you seen the VH1 documentary “Keep Me in your Heart”? It documents the making of the album. It is worth a look.

    Like

  2. Chris,

    I’ve been using a HipSter for a while now and absolutely love mine. I’ve used mine mainly as a collection device but do have some GTD action lists included on it. If you use Firefox and download the GTDGmail add-on, you can actually print Hipster cards for your tasks using a gmail account. Verrry Cooool!

    Like

  3. Hey Chris I have had a Zire 72s for over a year and absolutely love it. It is bluetooth compatible and it even has a digital cam in case you forget to carry one with you. It has never crashed maybe take a look?

    Like

Comments are closed.