Conference Reflex #1

Let me apologize for not blogging sooner.  The last 24 hours have been a whirlwind!!!

At 4:30 PM yesterday I left the conference heading back to Lakeland.  After 3 hours of wall-to-wall Atlanta traffic it took me until about 3:00 AM to get home.  Two hours of sleep later I was back up to head to the hospital with my Dad.  Several hours in the waiting room and then several more hours getting him back home (HMOs bite arse!!!) made me even more wasted.

Today is my 41st birthday so my wife decorated the house.  I was so tired I just kind of stared into space for the last two hours.  Denise is so great.  She postponed everything until Friday so I could rest up an enjoy it.  So I finally got some non-road food in me about an hour ago and that brings me to now.

I haven’t really had a chance to decompress and reflect on the whole ChurchPlanters.com Conference.  Being ADD I take everything in, but it takes me a few days to process it all.  I may drive people crazy, but I’ll probably blog off and on about it until the weekend. 

There are so many bloggers out there that have done such a great job of listing the top notes for each speaker/track time that I won’t rehash that.  I will, however blog about some of the things that really moved me emotionally over the last three days.

The entire trip, conference, networking, hanging with friends experience was like riding a rollercoaster of emotions.  Lovejoy had me wanting to be mean, Stetzer had me wanting to stay a Southern Baptist, Ferguson had me wanting to risk my life doing something dangerous, Carter had me in tears of humility and Noble just had me jacked up.  Gary Lamb?  Well, let’s just say listening back to Gary’s track time on the compact disc while driving down I-75 at 1:00 AM will have you doing 95mph.  There’s gotta be a Sammy Hagar song in there some where!  🙂

I met a lot of cool people and experienced one really great church.  As the next few days go on I’ll break it down in more detail.  All in all, it was a great conference experience and…for me…that’s rare.

Conference Reflex #1