A Really Weird Question

I had this guy from Texas call me today about speaking at a church planter’s conference.  I’m always surprised when this happens, because Compass Point is not huge and my blog postings seem to confuse more people than inspire.  Besides, who has really ever heard of Chris Elrod?  I mean Perry Noble, Gary Lamb, Ed Stetzer, Ben Arment, Dave Ferguson…yeah, but Chris Elrod?  I don’t think so!

Anyway, he tells me he’s "been reading my blog" and felt "I was the kind of guy they wanted to speak to Texas church planters"?!?!?  He then asks me a really weird question…especially for someone that supposedly has been reading this blog.  He asks, "So, what are you an expert on that we can put in the brochure?"  So I replied, "I’m an expert in reaching young 20-something artsy-fartsy, disconnected folks in Lakeland, Florida.  Other than that I don’t know crap about church planting!"

He made some excuse about how he had to clear me through some committee and he’d get back to me later.   I guess I blew that.  And here I thought honesty was the best policy!  🙂

A Really Weird Question