A Hero In Blue

Blue_angels
As many of you know I am a huge aviation nut…one of my unrealized dreams was to fly for the Blue Angels U.S. Navy flight demonstration team.  This past October I shot this picture at an airshow in Jacksonville that I attended with my Dad.  One of the pilots in this photo is no longer with us.  CNN is reporting that a Blue Angel crashed and died during a performance at an airfield in South Carolina.

Already there posts online from Navy personnel that were at the show talking about what happened.  From what I can gather it was probably a bird sucked into the engine…thus causing a total flame out.  Reports are that the pilot could have ejected safely, but knew he was over a populated area.  He rode it in…guiding the jet…dead stick…away from houses.

The Navy has not released his name pending notification of his family.  Right now we just know him as a…hero!

A Hero In Blue