Random Thoughts

It’s been a crazy week and…yes, Gary…I know I lied to a dead man. 🙂

Not much depth in this post…just a debriefing of the last couple of days and some random thoughts…

1. Got to hang out and listen to Ed Stetzer in Jacksonville Thursday. That guy really has a handle on what churches must do to reach folks in the future. He inspires me to blog and write.

2. Speaking of writing, I have a butt-load of writing deadlines…magazines…blogs…etc.

3. Looks like one of the book deals may have come through…more later…

4. I lost my voice on Wednesday…Denise’s prayers were answered.

5. Thanks to Mike Ellis of the “Church For Men” (I’m speaking there tonight) I’ve done a bunch of radio and newspaper interviews this week. I had a blast talking to the morning team at Rock 105 in Jacksonville the other day. Word has it they played some Guns N’ Roses in my honor once the interview was done!!!

6. Learning the value of true friends…and the value of when they don’t agree with you. Totally cool…

7. I’ve got to get up at 4:00 AM tomorrow to take one of my leaders and his wife to the airport. That is after I have to drive back from Daytona Beach tonight. I’ll be napping tomorrow…

8. I’m thinking about going to the SBC Convention in San Antonio next month. I’m waiting to see if Steve McCoy or Joe Thorn will be there…want to meet those guys.

9. In conjunction with #8…I’m trying to figure out…pray through…if I have a future with the Southern Baptist Convention. The Florida Baptist Convention hasn’t been all that friendly…or receptive…to missional bloggers. Their ideas on church planting and church multiplication some days seem pretty…yesterday!!!

10. School is almost out. For the first time in years I’m thinking about not substitute teaching. I don’t know what that may mean as far as my desire to see the future of church outreach…but the time to get everything done is shortening…

11. Florida is already hot. If I didn’t love the people and the community…I’d be planting in Colorado or Alaska.

12. Travis Johnson and his wife are going to have a boy. I’m going to buy the child a messenger bag! 🙂

13. The Bucs’ draft picks leave a lot to be desired. I’m tired of us fans getting hosed by Gruden…

14. I’m looking forward to writing with some pretty cool guys. I’ve always written alone…but I’m looking forward to having two heads in on some of the stuff.

15. I’m getting spiritually restless…that usually means God’s getting ready to make some changes…

Random Thoughts