One Last iPhone Comment

I recently went back to using Mac computer products…I bought a black Macbook and love it!!! I own an iPod video 30-gig and am excited about the iPhone. I am still in the middle of a contract with AT&T Wireless for my Blackberry. When it is up I’ll…most likely…make the jump to iPhone.

Unfortunately, the actual purpose of my blog posting got lost in a technology war and Mac-bashing. My point was not to take shots at Apple, the iPhone or Steve Jobs. My point was to say that what we…as Christian leaders see…may not be what the people we are trying to reach perceive.

I recently met with several soon-to-be church planters that are planting the church in their head…not the one for their community. They are structuring things around what is relevant to them…not what is relevant to the young 20-somethings they want to reach. In fact, none of them have actually talked with the folks they want to reach…they are getting all of their ideas from church leadership books, church planting conferences and the blogs of other pastors. In essence, they are planting a church that is relevant to know one but themselves…and that is disturbing!!! How can you be on mission for God if you never talk with the folks on your mission field???

I am now ending the iPhone conversation on this blog. If you’d like to comment on the issues of relevance I “discovered” in my unofficial poll to young 20-somethings, feel free to post it. If you are tech head that wants to dispell what I wrote about the iPhone…link to my sight and rip me a new one from your own blog…I won’t be approving your comments here. If you are an Apple employee…either prove I’m wrong by letting someone in the blog world review an iPhone or be quiet. You’ve had more than enough oppportunity to put the truth out there before today. It is your own fault that there is misconceptions and chaos throughout the internet as to what your product will actually do. If you are an AT&T Wireless employee…you and I have date around 6:00 PM on June 29th. Don’t be late!!!

One Last iPhone Comment