R.I.P. Comments Section

I love the art of conversation…the free exchange of ideas..the passion of sharing vision. However, over the past year I have begun to question whether the medium of blogs is the best place for just such interaction. I have always worked hard to make sure that my posts are clear and thought out. I never want there to be any confusion if I can help it. Yet there have been moments on this blog where some people just don’t get it…they just cannot grasp the concept of what my purpose is. I’ll also admit that my personality is one that has a hard time letting go of negative comments or misunderstandings about the things I write. Consquently, I spend a lot of time thinking about comments left on this blog…along with trying to clarifying things not clearly understood.

In reality, the idea to shut down the comments on my blog was decided almost a month ago. Those closest to me know that a very disturbed young man appeard out of the woodwork due to one of my blog postings and the national media attention it received. When I would not post his incredibly sick comments about women on this blog he became angry and made threats against my wife, my church and me. When he actually showed up in Lakeland things became all too real…and scary. Thank God he is in custody now and receiving the help he needs to get better.

Even after that incident I started to back down from my idea of dropping comments…then I blogged about my poll concerning the iPhone. I have never encountered such obsessed and hateful comments as I did concerning that post. It wasn’t from church planters or leaders…they got the point…it was from Apple freaks and Steve Jobs groupies. They are some obsessed, mean…sometimes ignorant…people. I own a Macbook and am a huge fan of Apple prodcuts, however I can’t even begin to imagine saying some of the things about a person I do not know…over a cell phone…as they did about me. For every comment I approved there were five more that were just obscene. To create such anger over a piece of technology that no one has actually used (outside of Apple employees) just left me speechless. The “geek squad” could not grasp the concept that I presenting what was perceived…not what is…or in the case of the iPhone…what could be. When it was suggested in the comments of another blog that…as a Christian…it was my “responsibility” to correct any misunderstandings about an Apple product,,,the whole comment thing just “jumped the shark” for me. I knew then that it was time to shut it down.

I appreciate the church planters that drop by here. I pray that my blog will encourage and inspire tomorrow’s leaders and churches. However, it is time to say “rest in peace” comments…I knew you well…but do not grieve at your loss. 🙂

R.I.P. Comments Section