A Fun Question For Friday

The_game_tourI’ve been laying low with anything overly serious on my blog this week because half of the free world is at Catalyst. Anyway, I haven’t done a “Chris Question Friday” in a long time and I thought I would throw out a fun question I actually get quite often. It has nothing to do with church leadership or planting…but about my other great love…rock n’ roll. Here goes…

QUESTION Chris, I know you are a rock trivia buff and you have been to a bunch of concerts in your life. What is the greatest concert you have ever seen live in person? – Tim from Arvada, Colorado

ANSWER Great question Tim…one that really had me thinking hard. I’ve seen a bunch of wonderful shows over the years by some of the greatest live bands ever… KISS, The Clash, U2, Rolling Stones, Cheap Trick, Led Zepplin, The Who, Metallica, Guns N’ Roses, etc. However, the greatest concert I ever saw was on Saturday, August 9, 1980 at Reunion Arena in Dallas, Texas. It was “The Game Tour” by one of my all-time favorite bands…QUEEN. At that time…thanks to hits like “Another Bites The Dust”, “The Game” and “Crazy Little Thing Called Love”…Queen was the biggest band in the world. The show was amazing…even better than when I first saw them in 1978 in Dallas on the “Jazz Tour“. They were at the top of their game and the lighting was amazing. To this day I still think Freddie Mercury was/is the greatest front man and vocalist in rock music. His lifestyyle choices and ultimate passing were a complete tragedy! I also saw them in your neck of the woods Tim, in 1982 on the “Hot Space Tour” at McNichols Arena. It was a great show…Billy Squier opened for them…but could not compare to “The Game Tour”.

By the way…my second favorite show was just recently. That would be April 12, 2007 at The House Of Blues in Orlando when I saw The Flaming Lips. It is a true rock n’ roll spectacle that can’t be missed!!!

A Fun Question For Friday