Ignoring The 90%

I’ve always been a 10% kind of guy. I like to live life on the edge of disaster…a world where 90% of stuff I try fails. However, when you hit that 10% it’s magical…really a once-in-a-lifetime thing. I truly believe that God created me to be a 10% guy…it’s the spiritual thrill junkie in me.

I’m also learning that I have to be a 10% pastor and leader. Each year I attend multiple conferences, read a butt-load of magazine articles, struggle through dozens of books, endure numerous podcasts and check out hundreds of blogs. What I find is that only about 10% of the stuff I discover from other church leaders has any application value at Compass Point. It doesn’t mean that I narrow my input (though I’ve cut way back on books and podcasts)…you never know when one of those 10% ideas will present itself…it just means that I’ve got to do a better job of ignoring the other 90%.

It’s taken me three years and a bunch of heartache to get to the 10% point in my church leadership. I find that most first-time church planters fall in love with their community…but someone else’s church structure and style. When we first started Compass Point I had a heart for the disconnected of Lakeland, Florida…but also a love for Northpoint. I read everything Andy Stanley wrote (still do), went to their conferences, bought the 252 Basics kids materials, structured just like Northpoint and tried to do a more 7:22 type service. The problem…0% of the Northpoint stuff we tried worked. That’s nothing against Andy or his church…it’s just a fact.

When we stopped trying to be Northpoint…or any other church…things began to move forward (though we lost some of the core team that strictly wanted to be Northpoint Lakeland). As I said…I still read everything that Andy or his staff writes….but now I look for the “10% idea” that is Compass Point…and ignore the “90% ideas” that are Northpoint.

Ignoring The 90%