Copyright Issues

Last spring the an Associated Press writer used a quote from my blog in an national story.  The first I knew about it was when I got a call from a radio station in Detroit for an interview due to the article making their local newspaper.  I wasn’t ticked about the quote being used without my knowledge…in fact I was honored.  However, it got me thinking about copyright laws and how they pertain to blog posts.  In the past I haven’t really sweated people taking a quote from this blog…posting it on theirs and then linking back to my original post.   However, in the last few months I’ve seen folks reprinting complete posts of mine…or series of posts…without a link back to this blog…or even crediting me with the original thought.  The watchdog groups have been especially bad about this.  So I got to checking with one of my lawyers from back in my comedy days…a guy that specializes in intellectual property (not that any “property” that I write is all that intellectual).  It seems that blog posts are considered intellectual property and are subject to basic copyright laws. On my new WordPress site I have a copyright info section in one of the tabbed pages and at the bottom of the sidebar.  It basically says:

Blog posts on ChrisElrod.com may not be reprinted, reproduced or redistributed in their entirety without written permission from Chris Elrod or Compass Point Church. Minimal use of specific quotes, sentences, phrases, media or written thoughts on ChrisElrod.com may used elsewhere online or in mass media with a link back to this blog or by specifically mentioning ChrisElrod.com in the reproduction, reprint or redistribution.

 I guess what I’m saying is that it’s cool to repost a quote or thought from my blog onto another blog or media resource…but please don’t recopy the entire thing.  I will occasionally let Next Wave or Relevant Christian do that…but they always ask for permission.  Also, if you quote something from me on your blog…or in an article…be sure to give some “link love” to ChrisElrod.com!!!

Copyright Issues