The Passing Of A Pioneer

My time in the Christian Music industry afforded me the luxury of meeting many of the pioneer musicians and songwriters of the genre.  One meeting that always sticks out in my mind was Roby Duke.  I was only around him for a few hours one afternoon…but his humility, upbeat attitude and phenomenal musicianship  left a lasting impression on me.  His laugh was infectious…but it was his ability to make people feel at ease around him that really moved me.  I had listened to his music over the years…a mixture of blue-eyed soul, folk and jazz…and was a little intimidated to be around him.  I’m not sure if it was his gentle demeanor or his quick sense of humor…but he made me feel as a peer and not a fan.  The truth is…I made a fool of myself as I stood there awestruck…stammering and stuttering trying to sound like I was a “player” in the CCM venue…in a feeble attempt to impress him.  We both knew I was not…but Roby graciously played along.

On Wednesday Roby went to be with the Lord as the result of a heart attack.  His voice has gone silent…his guitar forever in its case…but his music…and his legacy…will live on.

The Passing Of A Pioneer