Field Of Dreams

It’s Saturday morning and everything is fairly quiet around the Elrod homestead (which is unusual).  As I switched around a few television channels looking for news I stumbled onto a movie I dearly love…”Field Of Dreams“.  It is such a metaphor for church planting….

  • Seeing a vision that others can’t see.
  • Watching “the light come on” in people when they finally get the vision.
  • Being told you’re crazy because you are doing the unthinkable.
  • Building something from nothing in an area it shouldn’t be.
  • Watching people come out of nowhere to respond.
  • Helping those that the world has forgotten or cast aside.

I love what I do.  I love the calling that God has placed in my heart.  I love that I have the privilege and honor of preaching God’s Word.  I love that I get to serve Him in Lakeland, Florida.  I love that I get up everyday and get to do something that…I love.  “Field Of Dreams” reminds me of that…and I cry like a baby every time I watch it.

Field Of Dreams

5 thoughts on “Field Of Dreams

  1. Hey Chris,

    This is a great post and I liked all the points you made in the bullets – I think I need to write this down and put it on my fridge. But I too think of this movie all the time, or rather, God is constantly reminding me of it, “if you build it they will come.” It is a great metaphor, especially in regards to church planting. I tell myself, “just do what God calls you to do and He’ll take care of the rest!” Anyway, thanks for this post, it was a good reminder and I needed to hear it.

    God’s blessings! ~Jen

    Like

  2. Hi Chris,
    Thanks for this great post. After planting and being the pastor of a church in the inner city of San Francisco for over 13 years I needed to hear what you had to say. I’ve relocated back to Charlotte NC and I’m planting a church here. It is very humbling to start all over once again. I went from looking out over a big crowd of people to looking out of about 32 after 4 Sunday’s. It is truly cool to watch people come around a vision. God bless you Chris.

    Like

Comments are closed.