My Two Hats

In my calling I wear two hats.  One hat is that of a shepherd…one that leads, guides and helps the sheep.  It involves going after the one that is lost…provide comfort for the one that is distraught…and actively love the one that feels that there is no hope.  The other hat I wear is that of a preacher…one that must bring forth the Word of God without compromise.  It involves teaching the truths of the Bible without cultural interference…a desire to confront sin where ever it may lurk…and a willingness to live or die by the Scriptural revelations.  Half of the sheep want me to wear only one hat…half of the sheep want me to wear the other.  The God that I serve…the Maker of this universe…the Creator of Truth…the One that called me…wants me to always wear both.  Some days that is difficult…but it is what is needed in today’s society!!!

“The times demand Christian courage. These days, courage means that preachers and Christian leaders must set an agenda for biblical confrontation, and not shrink from dealing with the full range of issues…” – Dr. Albert Mohler

My Two Hats

5 thoughts on “My Two Hats

  1. chad myhre says:

    Maybe I’m just out of the loop. That sounds like one hat to me. Maybe there are churches and pastors that like to make a distinction and focus primarily on one. Fortunately, I’m not exposed to that world. I have a pretty big (physically) head, so two hats isn’t a big deal to me.

    Like

  2. Chad – The “two hats” concept is the perception that my flock seems to have. If you notice I ended the post saying that God called me to wear both at all times…in essence only one. You point is the point I was trying to make…though apparently not so clearly. 🙂

    Like

  3. chad myhre says:

    Sorry, I’m dulled by a 2-day migraine. I thought maybe you were responding to a pastoral-mentality that is prevalent in the church right now. I can understand how the folks in our churches put these expectations on us.

    Like

  4. This filters down to all leaders, unfortunately. More often then not, I hear from parents and fellow youth teachers that we need to be more comforting, more loving, more caring when dealing with youth.

    What they are really saying is “don’t say anything that might upset the students or fellow teachers, for that matter.”

    So, don’t call out sin. Don’t follow the spirits leading of teaching/preaching anything that might be convicting. Don’t press for sanctification now. Better yet, don’t bring up justification either, because we don’t want to rock the peer pressure boat.

    Praying for you, brother.

    Like

  5. Not all leaders have a gifting that permits them to gracefully wear both hats at the same time. However, I agree that both hats are vital, so if one pastor can’t wear both, a church needs more than one pastor. I go to a wonderful church where the extremely gifted preacher struggles with the warm, fuzzy stuff, but his assistant is world class warm and fuzzy. So I agree entirely, both must be present — but to encourage those pastors who do not excel at both, I do think a church can get by as long as both hats are worn by someone. (Probably why Jesus sent out the disciples two by two.)

    God bless you in your work and in your wearing of both hats.

    Like

Comments are closed.