Blog Readability Test

So I was poking around the ‘Net today and found this site that measures the readability of your blog and rates it by academic levels.  When I ran mine (chriselrod.com) it came back rated for “High School”.  I felt pretty good about that since Dr. Ed Stetzer’s and Dr. Al Mohler’s blogs were also rated at that level.  Then I started running some of my friends through the test….let’s just say that any 5-year-old can enjoy the blog postings of Gary, Tadd, Dave and Travis.  🙂

Blog Readability Test

20 thoughts on “Blog Readability Test

  1. Junior High for mine. Nice. I can’t even read at that level.

    I think I’m going to get a word of the day calendar and maybe a medical dictionary. That should up the level.

    @ Gary — You wouldn’t be the first! (JK Love You Chris! You too, Gary)

    Like

  2. People that sling big words are like people who drive expensive sports cars at age 55…they’re trying to overcompensate for something else. Besides, I pride myself on speaking the language of the “everyman.”

    Congrats to you, Chris…you elitist, anti-pre-highschooler.

    Like

  3. OK, I played around with this thing ’cause it was pissing me off [I, too, was elementary] and I figured out what it does.

    Only whatever is on the front page of your blog is analyzed for content. So I plugged a few posts from the past that were “deeper” and I received a higher ranking.

    Now I feel better.

    Like

  4. I find this disconcerting at best. I will have to ponder anew how I might pontificate with greater erudition and, thus, increase the reading comprehension of my web domicile.

    Like

  5. I got an elementary school rating. This hurts.

    Steve thanks for pointing out how this thing works. I thought I was going to be forced into reading book on grammer. 😉

    Like

  6. jazzact13 says:

    Interesting. I put in the home page, and got a Junior High level. Decided to play around a bit with it, put in some individual pages, and got some post-graduate to even genius rankings.

    Like

  7. When you live with a 7, 5, and 2 year old, it’s amazing I made it over pre-school. Sending my score to my graduate school and asking for my money back.

    Like

Comments are closed.