Keller!!!

Dr. Tim Keller is done…and God help Rick Warren for having to follow him. Dr. Keller took a pretty big risk by quoting Brian McLaren…also laid some ground work for the idea for more multi-ethnic church…and for how to preach to multi-generational churches.

Compass Point is multi-generational…one of the biggest difficulties is making each Sunday’s message relevant to all ages. Thanks to Keller…I no longer feel the need to do so. He said he deals with it at his church…and had people getting frustrated when he wouldn’t preach to them. His response…preach the Bible…eventually you’ll get around to hitting everyone in your congregation…it was a real “whoa” moment in the Wondeful World Of Elrod!!!

On a personal note…we’ve been interviewing some of the “voices” of the Boomer movement of church planting…pastors of large mega-churches. One theme has been running through our conversations with them…”I use to be hip and cutting edge and now the young church planters are pushing back from my style of leadership, pastoring and church growth…I’m no longer a voice” They seem very bothered by the fact that they aren’t really influencing today and tomorrow’s church leaders anymore. Dr. Keller is very quiet…very unassuming…and very humble…and a HUGE influence on present and future church leaders. It’s amazing how guys that care nothing about being hip, cool, popular, inspirational and influential…are the ones that are.

Keller!!!

5 thoughts on “Keller!!!

  1. I don’t know if anyone has been more influential to me (from afar) than Tim Keller. I’m so glad that, even at 29, I’m no longer young and stupid enough to think I don’t have a TON to learn from guys his age. Oh how I wish my grandfather was still alive…

    Like

  2. Sounds like a great man, and a well that one needs to be near if one wants to discover wisdom. A man just quietly going about Kingdom things – tjanks for the heads up.

    PS – The Deadliest Catch starts Monday 7:30, free to air channel 6, Albany, Western Australia

    Like

Comments are closed.