The Miracle

People always tell me how honest the posts on my blog are…how authentic and open I am.  I suppose that is true, but the one area I have never been real open about is my personal life…especially when it comes to family.  I have never posted about Denise and my struggles concerning children…but we were told it would never happen.  She is 43 years old and I am 42…the doctors had basically said it wasn’t going to be a possibility at this stage of life…the window of opportunity had passed.  We had looked into special medical techniques and possible adoption…but just kept sensing that if God wanted us to have a child He would provide…if He didn’t…then we would have to accept that.  Though we never quit trying and never quit praying about it…we had begun to come to the conclusion that God meant for us to not have children…and began to come to grips with that.  We were not bitter or angry…we were not resentful or upset…however…the realization made us a little sad…but we accepted.

Last week Denise sensed something different and began taking the home pregnancy tests….both came back positive.  This week she went to the doctor for official verification.  She finally told me last night right after our Journey Group.  Everyone in the neighborhood where we meet knew about it…a fat white guy running down the street shouting, laughing and crying kind of draws attention. 🙂

The reality is that we are older.  There are health risks to Denise and the baby.  There is also the realization that I’ll be in my fifties when my child becomes a teenager…and near retirement age when they are in college.  I don’t know why God waited so long…but I am just humbled, amazed, blessed…overwhelmed that He has provided us with a child.  We are not questioning the timing…or what lays ahead.  God already knows the outcome…this baby is a miracle and a gift from Him.  Denise and I will take it one day at a time…and be grateful for just having the opportunity to experience being parents.

I can tell you one other personal thing…Denise does not like the names Ace or Slash if it’s a boy…or Pat or Lita if it’s a girl.  🙂

The Miracle

26 thoughts on “The Miracle

  1. Hey Chris,

    As a newcomer to your blog, I am still getting to know you … and yet, it was so easy to feel your excitement in your announcement last night, and in this posting today.

    Congrats. I’d love your permission to share this story with my congregation (www.bikerschurch.com) and then invite them to be praying for you guys during the pregnancy.

    It’s cool how God works.

    Rob

    Like

  2. Alright now…that’s the SECOND time today you’ve made me cry. But then I laughed out loud when I read the last sentence! BTW: Concerning your “tweet”…The Reeders have MUCH LOVE for you, too. One of these days we are gonna have to pile all the kiddos in the car and take a roadtrip to Lakeland. (Now that would scare you to death, wouldn’t it??) 😉 Again, we are so happy for you!

    Like

  3. Jonathan Hopson says:

    Congrats on the pregnancy! How about the name Edgar or better yet Jonathan? 🙂

    One of the many reasons I subscribed to your blog is the radical authenticity you share both professionally and personally. Thanks for keeping it real!

    Like

  4. Congrats Man! My wife and I just had our first kid. It is freaking awesome! And with your comic mind, I am sure the pregnancy stories will be hilarious over the next nine months. 🙂

    Like

  5. Chris,

    It was great to meet you face to face last week at Exponential. You are definitely a guy I would love to hang out with more. Congrats on the upcoming addition to the Elrod clan.

    Like

  6. Chris,

    I’m 37. My dad is 58. I have 2 half-brothers younger than 5. They will need a wheelchair and an oxygen tank at their graduation for him. You are doing fine. *grin*

    Congratulations.

    Like

  7. CONGRATS to you and your wife! The doctors told my wife and I that it would be very difficult to have a baby or that we would never have a baby. For seven years we prayed, cried and trusted. We to believe that we were going to be parents one day. Eventually we started to believe that God wanted us to have kids some other way which was fine with us BUT THEN GOD SAID IT’S TIME! He blessed us with an amazing little boy! God is SO AWESOME! His timing is perfect! At the end of the month my son will be one years old. So dude I totally celebrate with you and your wife. God bless you…and get ready for the adventure of your life. Remember when you come to Cumming GA I’m taking you out to Chili’s! See ya!

    Like

  8. Thanks for that – I enjoy your posts because there is no bulldust, but I thankyou for opening up and allowing us to see Chris. Blessings

    Like

  9. I’m not a regular on your blog, but I had to comment on this. Children are amazing. Even when they’re rotten…they’re amazing. I’m excited for you both. I was 29 when I had my last, but have a friend that hers at 4….she did GREAT! Can’t wait to hear more stories.

    Like

  10. CHRIS!!!!!

    Congratulations man!

    Dude, I have the perfect name for a manchild. I have always wanted this name for my own manchild but apparently, after four girls, it appears that I am unable to produce men. I will therefore bequeath to thee the name… Blue.

    Imagine it, “Blue Elrod.” Now it just doesn’t get any better than that.

    And to the rest of you reading this, this name is only for the Elrod family. You are not free to take this name for your manchild.

    Oh, by the way, if you can get your bride to name your manchild “Blue” you are a better man than I.

    Congratulations friend.

    Paul

    Like

  11. Chris,

    You told your wife’s age. I be praying for you.

    Your age will work out to be an advantage. Maturity and common sense go a long way to raising children.

    Like

  12. spadinofamily says:

    I like the names of Oly or Sven. If you want to get your name chosen always start with some extreme names and then a bit closer to normal.

    I love your BLOG topics. Stop by mine sometime.

    http://spadinofamily.wordpress.com/

    My prayers are with you on these new developments

    Like

  13. Rich says:

    Praise GOD brother Chris! Here’s some encouragement…my sister had my nephew when she was 42, and my niece was born when she was 45. Everyone is healthy, and full of the Joy of the LORD. The only thing she has had to get used to is the other kids thinking that she is the grandma instead of the mom.
    By the way, I am a friend of that goofy Wes Fortune character. He told me about you trying to feed him to the alligator. I don’t blame you, brother, I think GOD would understand! All kidding aside, I love brother Wes, and I sure miss him. I know GOD has a purpose in sending him there. Maybe just to teach you folks patience! 🙂

    Like

  14. Awesome! Congrats to you both. LOL @ Mike re: revealing your wife’s age. I’m not a mom yet, but belive God that I will be.

    Like

Comments are closed.