8 thoughts on “Kentucky Derby Thoughts

  1. Ted says:

    Comment shows you don’t know much about horses. And that you have an emotional connection with the horse over the human. Your comment is like saying a human athlete can’t play in a football came and tear up their knee without being hit or injured before. But I can show you instances where that has happened.

    Like

  2. The Jockey rode a horse that just made $400,000. Was is wortht the risk? How many athletes would risk further injury when playing in the Super Bowl, or the Finals? IMO, Most would.

    Like

  3. Ted – A human athlete has a choice…the horse didn’t…but the jockey did. By the way…I know quite a bit about horses…I helped pay a semester or two of college by working with a thoroughbred trainer. The argument that I put forth is one that many experts within the horse racing community are also putting forth. I am not an expert…but I’ve been around the block enough to know when a jockey, trainer and owner cared more about winning…than the life of the horse.

    Charles – Good point about the jockey and the money. I wonder if Eight Belles thought it was worth the $400,000? I also wonder if the $400,000 made a dent in the cost to raise, train and care for the horse over the years…not to mention what they financially could have made on her in retirement?

    Like

Comments are closed.