The Summer Of Change

So I have alluding to it for several weeks now…but Compass Point is going through some changes right now…some big…some subtle…but all necessary. The spring of 2008 was probably the most lucid and growing time I have ever had with God. He put people, experiences and other church leaders in my life that He used to really rock my world. Denise and my baby experience was the final piece in the puzzle…the moment when I realized that there are more important things in life than holding on to what I have. Success is fleeting…it is the climb to the next rung in the ladder that really counts…the desire to constantly be moving forward is the mark of a life fulfilled. A life played safe is anything but “life more abundantly”…a life in the safe zone equals boredom…and boredom really sucks!!!

In the context of Lakeland and our denomination…Compass Point is considered somewhat of a success. In the context of my mind and our calling…there are still new peaks to climb…still new “Petes” to reach…still people in this world far from God needing the ministry of the “loud, rude and obnoxious!” God is leading me…to lead Compass Point…into new valleys…and amazing mountain tops.

I have been listening…learning…and saying that we will move forward “tomorrow”. Then I realized last week…to quote myself…as of today…tomorrow has never come. What has been done is history…what lies ahead is all that matters for Compass Point. As of this past Monday…”tomorrow” finally arrived. “Tomorrow” means a summer of change…new structures…new strategies…new parameters…a new passion…for the same old direction that God initially called Compass Point to when we launched.

Stay tuned…it’s going to be fun…it’s going to be scary…it’s going to be amazing…it’s going to be difficult…it’s going to be outside the box…it’s going to be inside the box…it’s going to be beyond anything we’ve ever seen before. It’s going to be a lot of things…but it will not be boring!!!

The Summer Of Change

One thought on “The Summer Of Change

Comments are closed.