Summer Of Change: Video Venue

I must admit I have never been a huge fan of the video venue idea.  It’s nothing Scriptural or doctrinal…just a personal opinion I suppose.  I’m more of a shepherd type of guy…so personal touch is pretty important to me.  However, I’m also discovering that it is hard to replicate myself as we grow larger…harder to be in two or three places at the same time.  It is also getting harder for me to take a Sunday off.  With those thoughts in mind we wanted to experiment a little with the idea of using video preaching at Compass Point this summer.  The “One Prayer” campaign gave us a prime opportunity.

This past Sunday I was on vacation…and Perry Noble was in my pulpit..via video.  The results…AMAZING!!!  Now don’t get me wrong…it was Perry Noble.  His style and my style of preaching are similar…his church demographics and the demographics at Compass Point are pretty close.  Our people don’t really respond to the “sit-on-the-stool-communicator-teacher” types…they respond to loud, animated, in-your-face preachers…which Perry definitely qualifies!!!

Even though the video was of a preacher much like Compass Point is used to, there were still questions about whether people would listen to the whole thing, respond well to the humor and actively engage someone that was on a screen?  The answer is a resounding “yes“!!!  I have no clue what that means for Compass Point at this point.  It has implications that I can take a Sunday off and still be preaching on campus.  It has implications about having some other video venue pastors fill my pulpit when I’m out.  It has some implications about starting campuses in Dade City, Polk City or Mulberry.  Heck, it may even mean that Compass Point will call for my resignation and ask NewSpring to turn Compass Point into a video venue campus (just kidding Perry…I think).

Over the next few months we will continue experimenting with the video stuff.  To date, Lakeland has never had an official video venue campus…there was much concern whether it would fly in Polk County?!?!  I can’t say that one Sunday of us doing it answers that question totally…but I can say it was a step in a new direction that opens up many possibilities!!!

Summer Of Change: Video Venue