The Wedding Party

I’m all the time talking about the musical talent we have at Compass Point. We’ve got some pretty amazing musicians, songwriters and singers that are impacting the local and national scene with some ground-breaking musical experiments. I love being around creative people that aspire to reach more than just the “church crowd”.

A while back I blogged about Joon’s new album and today I wanna turn folks onto The Wedding Party. I love these guys and their new album “Welcome To Your Twenties“. It’s not your normal, run-of-the-mill pop music. It acoustic-based radio-friendly stuff done with steel-stringed guitars, stand up bass, harmonica, slide and anything else that happens to be laying around in the studio. It’s not rock, bluegrass, country or pop…it’s all of that combined for an amazing musical journey. I guess the coolest thing about The Wedding Party is that their lyrics are really different. Two of my favorite songs is “Leta” about one of the band member’s grandmother…and “Drive” which is simply about a drive through the pine-lined back roads. The album is pretty amazing…honest…and open. I recently described to someone that listening to “Welcome To Your Twenties” as feeling like you’re sitting on the back porch with close friends enjoying a cold drink, deep conversation and incredible music. I love this band…I love this album. Head over to iTunes and check it out!!!

The Wedding Party