Where’s The Fear?

Last Sunday I was meeting with the Compass Point praise band in one of the locker rooms of the YMCA. We always get together before the service to discuss the order of worship and to allow the Elders to pray over us. As I was giving a “pep talk” I looked over on the wall right behind the band members and saw a HUGE spider. I started toward it with a large Williams Wallace-style sword I had in my hand (using it for an illustration in the “pep talk”) to kill it. The band members saw what I was doing, noticed the spider and began to flee as fast they could from the area. It was amazing that it only took a few milliseconds for people in the room to see the spider, mentally deduce that it was dangerous and immediately run in the other direction. I began to think, why don’t we do that in our spiritual lives? Where is the healthy fear of God that prevents us from falling into the trap of sin?

As a pastor and church leader I live in fear of the truth found in Hebrews 13:17…that I MUST give an account for the flock…Compass Point…that I was entrusted with by God. I must give an account of the way I lived, the example I set, how I shepherded my family and whether or not my life was a living testimony to Kingdom of God. It is the healthy fear of the Father that makes me want to flee from all appearances of evil so that I might not do something stupid to cause God to take His hand off of me…and Compass Point. It is not a paralyzing fear…but a pleasing fear…wanting to do the right thing so that God may look down on me with favor and not wrath.

This week I’ve been reminded of what is written in Galations 6:7-8…sin will always find you out. You can’t hide the sin in your life…even secret sin…once you’ve decided not to flee from it. As I read about the deception of the young man that penned the worship song “Healer” to the revelations of the secret sin from a leader in our own city…the sin was not avoided…was left unchecked…and lives have been destroyed because of it. They had no fear of God…of His wrath…of the consequences of their selfish desires. The saw sin and did not flee from it’s dangers…and now their lives…and lives of thousands of others…will never be the same.

Where’s the fear these days of God’s wrath and judgment on our lives? Where’s the fear these days of the truth that is found in the Word Of God? Where’s the fear these days of doing something stupid that can cause God to take His hand off of us? Where’s the fear that we will lead people to Hell with our selfish actions? Where’s the fear of sin? We must be like the band members and the spider…seeing the danger…immediately realizing it’s destructive powers…and running as quickly as we can…the other way!!!

Where’s The Fear?