Playing Above Your Game

When I was in elementary school I decided to take a summer tennis course sponsored through the local YMCA.  I had never picked up a tennis racquet before…much less hit a tennis ball.  In all honesty I took the course because I thought Chris Evert was hot and I had pre-teen dreams of impressing her with my skill.  Anyway, I sucked at tennis…until I played against a guy in my neighborhood that was aiming to be pro.  He would whip my rear every game…I mean totally humiliating defeats.  The crazy thing…as I was playing against him…I was learning at a level beyond my abilities…I was playing above my game.  I never did beat him…not even once…but I was able to demolish every other player taking the YMCA course.  By the way, Chris Evert never took an interest in me so I dropped the game.  🙂

The point is that I didn’t hang around people that were at my level.  I wanted to get better…I wanted to succeed…I wanted to be the best I could…so I played with people above my game.  Whatever I have done in life…comedy, church leadership, being a husband…I always looked for people playing above my game to hang out with and learn from.  As a church leader my dream is to see Compass Point Church reach thousands of people far from God in Lakeland with the Good News of Jesus Christ…therefore I seek out relationships with pastors that are already reaching thousands in their community.  As a comedian I never hung out with guys on my own success level…I hung out with comedians that were doing television shows and headlining tours.  As a Christian I try to hang out with…listen to…and read books by…theologians and pastors that are way beyond my understanding of the Bible.  Trying to comprehend their level of Scriptural knowledge increases my level of knowledge of God’s Word.  I may never reach their level of play…but my game gets better with each passing day.

Don’t settle for the norm…the status quo…in your walk with Jesus Christ…in your calling for God’s Kingdom.  Be better…go further…get deeper…become proactive…and rise above the standard level.  To do so…seek out…spend time with…listen to…and soak up…the wisdom and practices of people playing above your game.

Playing Above Your Game