Making Who Famous? – Part 1

Over the past several months God has blessed me with the opportunity to be around the folks at NewSpring Church in Anderson, South Carolina on a monthly basis.  I have never met a more friendly and servant minded group of people in my life.  I have also been inspired and challenged by their staff…as well as their pastor Perry Noble.  There seems to be this entire culture there…from the top leader down to the newest volunteer…that is willing to do whatever it takes…for as long as it takes…to spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ to everyone they come in contact with.  I think it because they all have thoroughly embraced the vision for NewSpring…they exists to make Jesus famous, one life at a time.

This past coaching session I asked Perry a question about how he decides what to say in a sermon and what he leaves out (I have a tendency to “over cook” my sermons).  His reply was. “I just let the Holy Spirit lead me and tell me what to say.”  It was such a simple, straight forward answer that I felt like an idot for even asking the question.  Then later that night…on my flight back to Florida…Perry’s answer came back to my mind…along with the vision statement of NewSpring.   I began to weigh those two phrases against my life, my ministry and my church.  I had to go to the bathroom to regain my composure…to get a hold of my emotions.  It was in that moment…in seat 19D on a Boeing 767 at 35,000 feet that I realized…that I existed to make Chris Elrod famous…Compass Point Church famous…and not Jesus.  I realized that the leading of the Holy Spirit in my life normally takes a back seat to the power of my insecurities, ego and need to feel accepted.

Making Who Famous? – Part 1