Returning

I am currently on a personal prayer retreat at Mepkin Abbey outside of Moncks Corner, SC. Over the past few months Compass Point has been steadily growing to the point where my role and accessibility as the Senior Pastor has begun to change. Much of what I’ve been praying about up here is how to better work each week within my strengths, how to communicate vision to the leadership of our church more effectively and how to structure my schedule in order to better serve God in the calling He has given me. God has blessed me during my time here with clarity and a new sense of urgency. He has provided the answers I have been looking for and I am excited about the direction of His leading.

Several weeks ago I dipped my toe back into the water of blogging. With it came the danger of me going back to shameless self-promotion, self-absorbed posts and obsessive checking of stats to boost my self-esteem. While on this retreat I have come to realize that I have very little wisdom or experience to offer to other church leaders or church planters through a blog. However, God has shown me that there is so much that I need to share with the leadership of Compass Point…and this blog is a perfect outlet.

I invite anyone to continue reading what I write. However, if you are expecting the old Chris Elrod and the bravado of my previous days as a blogger…I’m afraid those are gone. For Compass Point leaders…I look forward to sharing with you what God is calling us to do as a church for His cause and His kingdom.

Returning