Input: More Social With Him – Less Social With Others

I recently received an invitation to join Google Wave.  As with all new technology I was excited to participate so I signed up…and entered a world of pings, waves and extensions.  It only took about an hour of getting dozens of pings before I realized this was just going to be another constant source of distraction.

I am finding that time is one of my greatest commodities these day…a commodity that I seem to have precious little of.  Each month God is blessing Compass Point with people coming to know Him and that means constant growth.  Constant growth means that my main job is to know where God is leading us and what steps He wants us to take to get there.  More time spent with Him is required…but the barrage of input makes that near impossible sometimes.  While meetings, Bible studies and planning sessions are necessary for the health of Compass Point…there is much input that I need to limit.  It’s more important that I spend hours praying than hours answering Facebook messages from people I went to kindergarten with.  It’s more important that I be prepared when I get into the pulpit than be prepared to respond to everyone’s Wave pings.  It’s more important that I hear from God than to hear about everyone’s lunch plans on Twitter.  In essence I am finding out that social networks are allowing me to be more social with others…and less social with the Father.

Through much prayer, thought and receiving guidance from others…I’ll be making some changes in the way I communicate and receive information through social networks and online.  Some of these changes may tick people off and may render me less accessible….but are necessary to pastor a growing church.  More about these changes tomorrow.

Input: More Social With Him – Less Social With Others