Empty Handed “Leadership”

Once a quarter or so I meet with one of Compass Point’s up-and-coming leaders John McKee.  We’ve moved him around to a multitude of roles trying to find his “sweet spot” in ministry and our regular meetings for evaluation are part of the process.  Each time we meet he brings a notebook and pen to jot down notes.  Sometimes he writes a bunch of notes…other times just a few…but he always brings the notebook.  I asked him one time why he did it and he said, “Because when we meet I expect to hear something that I can aply to my life and leadership and I want to be able to write it down”.

There are many top church leaders that I’ve been blessed to meet with over the years.  They are vision casters, catalysts for change and architects of some of the fastest growing congregations in America.  In these meetings I never fail to bring along a notebook and a pen because I’m expecting them to give me great stuff that God intends for me to hear.  Nothing burns me up more than having someone in leadership at Compass Point…or a future church planter…meet with me empty handed.   It says, “Thanks for taking time out of your schedule to meet with me…but I do not expect you to say anything that I can find useful to apply to my life or leadership.”  I’m not all that crazy about people taking notes on smart phones or laptops (makes me think they’re checking their email, Facebook, Twitter or playing games) but at least they didn’t show up empty handed.

As simple as this sounds the mark of a great church leader is someone that comes to a meeting expecting God to speak in some fashion…and being prepared to take it down when they hear it. Those that show up empty handed are destined to never know their full potential as leaders…because their ego either believes they already know it all…or they have no ability to expect God to speak even in the most mundane situations.

Empty Handed “Leadership”