The Fine Art Of “No”

One of the aspects of being the Senior Pastor of Compass Point that is not fun is having to say “no”.  We are blessed with extremely wise and creative people that are constantly coming up with great ideas.  While I would love to say “yes” to every idea the realization is that not every one fits into the vision or future of Compass Point.  Unfortunately I have to say “no” more than “yes”.  Sometimes it’s not the right timing…sometimes it will forfeit our value of being simple…other times we just do not have the resources…many times I have not felt God say “yes”.

After all of these years you would think that I would have saying “no” down to a fine art…but I don’t.  It is still difficult…it is still not easy…there are days when I fumble it…days when it makes others angry…days when people leave Compass Point over it.  However, it still has to be done.  I’ve discovered that when you say “no” to one good idea…it opens the way to say “yes” to a really GREAT idea.  Those “yes” moments only happen about 10% of the time…but when they do…God moves in the midst of Compass Point in mighty ways.  It is for that reason that I will continue to struggle with learning the fine art of “no”.

The Fine Art Of “No”