This One’s For Zac

Over the last few Sunday nights Pastor Kyle has been leading Compass Point in an in-depth study through the Book of James. We’ve been learning what mature Christianity looks like…acts like…and responds like.  It’s not what you say that counts the most in being a following of Christ…it’s what you do.

Yesterday Zac Smith…a staff member of NewSpring Church…went Home.  After a long battle with cancer God healed Zac by bringing him to Heaven.  I did not know Zac all that well…but my staff did…and he made quite an impact on us.  I had met him a few times while attending Perry Noble’s coaching network.  Even though he was constantly suffering the effects of cancer there was an innate joy about him.  This joy came through in everything he did.

Two years ago Compass Point was having a terrible time getting Google Apps set up.  Zac was the one that helped us through it…and may have been the only person in the world to actually have Google’s phone number.  He spent countless hours on the phone with our guys talking them through the process…coaching them…encouraging them…and basically being a personalized tech support.  Later that year when I saw him at Unleash I thanked Zac for his help and asked him why he spent so much time helping us…especially when he had his own job to worry about. He told me, “Chris…helping churches reach people for Christ IS my job. Whether it’s NewSpring or Compass Point…I’m here to serve the Kingdom.”  It was a statement I will never forget.

When you read the Book of James…there are people that come to mind that seem to embody what James wrote about.  For me…for the leadership of Compass Point…Zac Smith is one of those people.  Even as he was dealing with a terminal disease he lived a life of faith…a life of ministry…a life to serve the Kingdom. To see what I mean…watch this.

This One’s For Zac