In Sync

I took this picture of my parents over the weekend.  I love this picture and all that it symbolizes!  They have been married for almost 50 years but they still hold hands, enjoy each other’s company, discover new things about the world together and love each other dearly.  I guess the thing I like most about this picture though…is the feet.  Notice how they are booth lifting the same foot…at the same time…together in sync?  That is what makes a great marriage…a husband and wife being in sync.  But they couldn’t be in sync as husband and wife if their marriage…and they as individuals…were not in sync with God.

I used to wonder what it took to make a marriage that lasted throughout the years?  Watching my Dad and Mom has given me that answer.  As a couple…as individuals…they we constantly in sync with God…He is the center of their life and marriage.  I’m sure there were tough days in my parent’s marriage…days when they might have thought about walking out…quitting…or divorce.  There were also many great days in their marriage…days when everything went well…and love was easy to feel or show.  But it was not the amount of good or bad days that has caused their marriage to survive…and thrive…it is their faith in God.  It is that faith in the Father that has caused the bads days not to be so devastating…and the great days to be beyond belief.  It is their faith in God that is glue that has held them together through almost a half of a century.   Being in sync with God as individuals is what has made them in sync as a couple.

I am grateful for loving and Godly parents.  I am grateful for a Dad and Mom that have weathered the storms of life…displayed what true marital commitment is…and have always been a wonderful example of Godly parents.  My greatest prayer is that Denise and I will be so in sync with God that we are totally in sync with each other….like my Dad and Mom.

In Sync

3 thoughts on “In Sync

  1. Lana Elrod says:

    Wow! Thanks Chris…..where have those almost 50 years gone…..like it was all yesterday. You are absolutely right…only through God’s wonderful grace have we had such a wonderful life. Raising you and Deann and now watching Hannah grow and knowing that our family are all Christians is a blessing beyond belief. Thank you for your article! Love, Mom

    Like

  2. Brad Thomas says:

    Love the photo and the great application behind it. Hoping Wendy and I will (with God’s Leading and Directing) make 50. 18 years this year and counting….

    Like

Comments are closed.