TRY To Come To Church?

There are very few phrases that get my blood boiling more than someone saying they will try to come to church.  It especially puts me in “punch you in the face” mode when it comes from a person that is an occasional church attender.  They might as well just say, “I’m a big wussy that would rather feed my immaturity than to give God any kind of quality time.  I have not grown up…I am a child…and you should spank my bottom like a toddler!”   Try is such a stupid word.  Anyone can try…at anything.  Try is the word of a loser that has no intention of giving it their best shot and pulling out all of the stops to make it happen.  Try is a word that appeases a tense conversation with no real commitment attached to it.  When you use the word try in connection with church attendance…you just sound like an idiot.  Either you will come to church or not….there’s no try.   It’s not like you are fighting off terrorists, rabid badgers and 30-foot tidal waves to make it to church.

Let’s be honest…going to church in the United States in the 21st Century is not a real difficult task.  Most churches have multiple services so you can choose a time that best suits your “too lazy to get up” schedule.  When you get to the church campus you don’t really have to think about where to park…there is a team to help direct you to a specific spot.  From there it’s a short walk to coffee, pastries and snacks…in most situations for free.  You don’t have to worry about handling the kids…trained people with background checks do that for you.  There’s a lovely person to show you to your seat…and a worship guide so you don’t look foolish when it’s time to stand, sing or sit down.  The chairs are plush and comfy….and the room temperature is just right.  The worship team will guide you through a setlist that is way better than the half-drunk band that you and your friends made fun of at the club last night.  And then there’s the sermon….straight forward, full of Truth and broken down so you can easily understand it.  Oh wait…that’s your real problem.  Church is easy…until it comes to God’s Word. You don’t like confronting your sin.  You don’t like hearing Truth.  You don’t relish the idea of hearing you may have to live for something…Somebody…other than yourself.  Now I understand why you “try” to come to church…and rarely do.

Now that we are on the same page…let’s stop using the phrase “I’ll try to come to church”.  Let’s start being honest…and use the phrase, “I’m a selfish ass that doesn’t want to be confronted with that fact that I’m a selfish ass.  It’s more important for me to have fun, sleep in or take a mini-vacation every weekend.  I don’t want to have to live for God because I only want Him around when my selfish ways destroy everything around me.  When my life and my family is in the crapper you will see me at church…but until that day comes don’t expect me to attend.”

TRY To Come To Church?