Warts

This past week I made a mistake…I tried to cover warts.  I’m not talking about the physical warts that grow as a result of frogs peeing on you (a myth by the way).  I’m talking about the technical, visual, production and implementation warts at Compass Point on Sunday.  In essence…we didn’t have a very good day.  Due to some lack of planning and some dropped balls not all of our staging or production was in place.  Due to leadership miscommunication there was no band.  Jonathan’s voice was cracking because of allergies.  There were quite a few interruptions during the message.  I got in the pulpit pretty frustrated by spiritual attacks…and it showed.  All in all we had some pretty ugly “warts” exposed for our guests and our regular attenders.  I made matters worse by trying to cover the warts…by making excuses…by trying to pass the warts off as planned.  In reality…it wasn’t planned…and we didn’t put our best foot forward.  I’m not sure which is worse…that we had warts that were our own fault…or that I tried to cover up the fact that we had warts.

I had a physical wart once on the top of my hand when I was younger.  It was ugly…it was extremely noticeable…and I did everything I could to cover it up.  I tried to tell people it was just a temporary sore.  For a while I put a band-aid over it.  I tried to use my mom’s makeup to cover it (no joke).  I even resorted to wearing gloves…big snow gloves…in the middle of summer.  The fact is that everyone knew I had a wart.  They could see it…they knew what it was…they knew that warts occasionally happen…and they were fine with it.  My friends and family looked past the wart because they were more interested in me…the person as a whole.  The fact that I tried to cover up an obvious wart just exposed my insecurity and made me look foolish.

There is something to be said for excellence when it comes to church services.  There is also something to be said for being real.  With that in mind…we had warts at Compass Point on Sunday.  The warts could have been prevented…and we’ll do a better job next Sunday…but we had warts.  In fact, Compass Point is people with warts that started a church with warts for other people that have warts.  The thing is…that most everybody there overlooked our warts…because they were more interested in what God and His Word had to say about their warts.

Warts