Align What’s Misaligned

Last year I took in the family truckster to get a front-end alignment.  Instead of paying $85…I paid $150.  Why?  Because I got the lifetime alignment deal.  At any point in the life of the car the wheel alignment goes bad I take it back in for an alignment…and never get charged again.  So far we’ve had two more alignments…not necessarily because it was needed…just because we can.  🙂

Cars occasionally get out of alignment.  Churches do also.  The other reality about churches…summer is a slow time.  A few weeks back I was having lunch with Danny Shaffner a pastor friend of mine.  We were talking about the “summer slump” in churches and he said, “Summer is a great time to realign what’s been misaligned at church.”  That statement blew me away!!!  Here we have some down time…a few months where the pace is slower…where momentum is maintained…not necessarily gained.  It is a perfect time to adjust some of those things (programs, direction, people, resources, ideas, etc.) that have strayed a little off the overall vision.  So that is what we are doing at Compass Point this summer…realigning what’s been misaligned.

Align What’s Misaligned