Uncertainty

I am a pastor and the leader of a growing church.  I try to faithfully follow God…spend a great amount of time each week with Him.  I read the Word of God and try to apply it’s truths to my life and my leadership.  You would think with all of that I’d be certain of the places we are to go as a church…of the decisions that are constantly being made.

I live to dream big…to desire that which is impossible…and to be amazed when God delivers.  Each small step in this journey called Compass Point brings another bigger step just around the corner.  What seemed like a huge decision yesterday quickly becomes almost insignificant when compared to the decision being made today.  After 6 years of constantly scaling new heights you would think I be more certain in the decisions being made.  That somehow success or experience breeds confidence and clarity.  That because of the mountains we’ve climbed as a church in the past…I should feel more certain about the peaks we are being called to scale by God these days.

What I am discovering is that success actually brings greater uncertainty…not less.  People coming to Christ, growth in attendance and a greater number of folks being discipled actually drives us into areas we’ve never been before.  At this point we are pioneers…blazing a trail to places we’ve never traveled through as a church.  The risks are greater…the dreams are bigger…the vision looks more impossible…and uncertainty becomes a constant.  That is why with each new step we take at Compass Point…with each new level of success…we have to lean on Jesus more and more.  There can be no certainty…only trust…faith…and total dependence on God.  It is Him…and Him alone…that we find any certainty.

Uncertainty