Listening To Lies

I have food allergies.  I’m not allergic to that many foods but the ones I am allergic to can really cause some near death experiences.  Anyone with allergies knows that about every 8 to 10 years the chemical makeup of your body changes thus causing changes to things you are allergic to.  Sometimes that means that some allergies go away while others appear for the first time.  The only way to find this out is medical testing (which can be expensive) or by just trying those things you are allergic to.

About 9 years ago I began to develop an allergy to seeds and nuts.  As a result I can no longer eat sunflower seeds…a snack I truly love.  It has been almost a decade since I ate a sunflower seed…and I have a hankering for them quite often.  Tuesday night my wife and I were on our way home when she began eating chocolate covered sunflower seeds from Cracker Barrel.  Not having tried them in a while to see if I was still allergic to them I asked to try a few.  The truth is I knew I was still allergic to them. I knew that doctors told me I would probably never get past the allergy.  I also knew that they are one of the things that send me to hospital when I eat them.  Still…I listened to the lie in my head that enough time had past that I was over the allergy.  I also listened to the lie in my head that a little taste couldn’t hurt me.  I listened to the lie in my head that chocolate covered sunflower seeds could make me happy.  Three sunflower seeds into my “trial run” left me short on breath, throat swelling up, chest pains as the muscles around my lungs tightened and finally my air passage closing up.  Luckily I didn’t have to go to the hospital, but I had to take a heavy round of Benadryl…which left me knocked out for a day…and I missed work.

As Christians we occasionally listen to the lies of the Devil.  He whispers in our ear that little things can’t hurt us…that we are over the things that have tripped us up in the past…that we can’t get hurt…that we could be happy and have our desires if we will just “try” him.  Satan is just like that little voice in my head that said it was okay to try sunflowers seeds.  It was a lie…and so is everything that the Devil tells us.  This coming Sunday we will begin a new sermon series at Compass Point entitled “Five Lies Of The Devil“.  During this series you will discover how to fight back at the Devil and resist the lies that he tempts us with.  For more details about this series click here.  By the way…this is a GREAT sermon series to bring unchurched friends and family to!

Listening To Lies