And Then Everything Went Dark

So I haven’t blogged in a while.  I’ve also been less active on Twitter and Facebook.  I’m really trying to get a handle on “the need” vs. “the want” of technology, social media and online interaction. It’s all become pretty routine…time consuming…cumbersome…confining…and boring.  Everyone knows the drill.  You put up a blog post expounding upon whatever area of church leadership/structure/strategy expertise you think you have.  You then link to it on Facebook or Twitter with some reference about how if people miss reading it they…or their church…will die.  On days when your ego needs a boost you open up comments to see how many people will respond.  If you get no response on your blog…you check your Twitter or Facebook account hoping that someone responded.  You respond back to the responses to keep them responding…because…because…because you don’t know why…you just know there’s a burning desire to keep the responses going.  Every few hours there’s the obligatory stats check to make sure you are still a living, breathing person that has purpose and is embraced by others.  If there’s no responses, hits or click throughs you comb through Facebook and Twitter posts searching to get into a “pick up” conversation.  You serve God…you see people come to Christ…you lead a church…but you don’t count in your mind until you have ‘X’ amount of followers on Twitter.  Where does it all stop?  What does it really accomplish?  Why has it become an addiction?  When do we put an end to this sin?

I love reading blog posts…but there are like 800 gazillion blogs by church leaders out there…and what do they really know about pastoring my church?  I like Twitter…but my life is complete if I don’t know what John Maxwell had for breakfast.  Facebook is a great tool for lurking through the pictures of people you went to high school with…but most days it’s just another inbox for mindless conversation.  I love knowing that the things I post online inspire and help people…but it’s a small part of what I do…a very small part.  My life is complete without my blog, Twitter or Facebook accounts.  I don’t need them to feel like somebody…and I don’t need them to stay up on what ‘s happening with the people in my life that I love.

I’m not sure where I’m going with all of this.  I only know that the times when I felt closest to God…heard a clearer vision from Him for my church…and felt clarity in mind, heart and soul…was the few times in life when I turned off the technology.  Maybe it needs to be a lifestyle…instead of an occasional break.  I’ll get back to you on that….

And Then Everything Went Dark