Wrestling For Great Days

Let me start by saying that my convictions don’t have to be your convictions.  However, at 44-years-old I realize that my life may be half over…in essence I’m at half time.  In the first half of my life I had some good days…some bad days…and some great days.  In the second half of my life I want to regroup to help God have the option of giving me more great days.  In looking back I realize that the greatest days were not those without bumps or pot holes in the journey…but the ones where I came through the biggest pot holes imaginable…and was still able to be obedient to God.  They were actually the hardest days of my life…but they were also the ones where God moved the most through me.  I want more of those days…those great days…those days when you know the Father still has a plan for you…days when you know that He’s not done yet.

In order to make this happen I’m processing everything in my life.  How I love my Lord…how I love my wife…how I love my church…and how I love others.  Time is the most precious commodity I have…and one of the few true sacrificial things I still have left to offer God.  I want each minute of each day to count for Him.  I am realizing that there are things that God has gifted me with…and I should concentrate most of my time there.  I also realize that there are things He has not gifted me with…and wonder if I should stop even attempting to get better at those.  I realize that better time management means having to say “no” to people I dearly love and respect…in order to say ‘yes’ to God.  Television, Facebook, Twitter and even this blog may be a thing of the past.  Future planning may exclude much of what I’ve done in the past.

I entered this time of mental and spiritual processing sometime over the summer…though it’s been simmering for a few years.  “Do I want to be discovered or developed?” has become a mantra in my life.  It is exciting to know that after all these years I can still dream big dreams…and be used for the Kingdom of God.  I now have some answers…but still processing a few more.  I like being here…today is one of those great days!

Wrestling For Great Days