I Stopped Reading Business Leadership Books

I never really understood what selling a cup of coffee, purple cows, the mindset of billionaire CEOs, target markets or tipping points had to do with pastoring a church.  Having been in business for many years I would read business leadership books by the tons each year.  If it taught me how to go from good to great, making stuff stick or moving cheese I’d dive off into the pages.  Somewhere along the way those kinds of books stop resonating with me.  Don’t get wrong there are occasional business books that come along that make you think outside the box.  But the realization is that business is about selling people crap that that don’t really want…or need.  Pastors are not in the business of selling crap…getting people to try brand Jesus…we are in the business of war.

Every day we go into battle against the Enemy.  We set objectives, run to fight with weapons raised, see casualties fall by the wayside and…with the power of God…stand firm in each attack that Satan levies.  We aren’t selling widgets…we’re planting seeds to win back POWs for the Kingdom of God.  I have found far more helpful advice as a pastor by reading books about battle tactics, commander’s biographies, military history and officer development than any business book out there.  In their pages are the secrets to waging war with an enemy.  I have found far greater lessons for my leadership from Sun Tzu’s “The Art Of War” than any of the hot New York best seller list business books.  Don’t believe me?  Read this and then shoot me an email about what you learned that helped you as a church leader.

I Stopped Reading Business Leadership Books