Healthy

This morning I’m heading to the doctor’s office for lab work, x-rays and an EKG.  There is nothing wrong with me…it’s just time for my yearly physical.  I used to not get them at all, but once you pass the age of 40-years-old you are more prone to some serious health issues.  In my family runs heart disease, cancer and diabetes.  I like my life…and want to keep living it with quality…so I get a yearly medical assessment so I can quickly make changes to improve my health.

As pastor I also do check ups.  I want to be a healthy leader and pastor for people to follow.  Like a medical check up it’s not easy…it’s not pretty…it’s sometimes uncomfortable…but necessary.  I have men inside and outside of Compass Point that I’m accountable to.  I ask them about my leadership, preaching, work habits, marriage, financial integrity, my schedule, time off, etc.  They speak openly and honestly with me.  I also ask my wife those same questions…as she is the first person I’m accountable to.  I may not like the answers, but I trust and value those that are giving them.  I like to pastor Compass Point Church…and want to keep doing it with quality…so I get a regular assessment so I can quickly make changes to improve my leadership health.

Healthy