Hills To Die On

When Compass Point first launched I wanted to fight every battle that came my way.  I wanted to do battle…and succeed or die…on every hill.  There also came a time when I mellowed out too much and stopped fighting any battles…any where…just letting the leadership fight them all.  Neither scenario is good.  Each Fall I start evaluating my leadership…the flaws…the successes…and how I conduct things as the Senior Pastor of Compass Point.  This season I have come to understand that there are some battles that need to be fought in order to maintain the vision of Compass Point.  In order to determine what battles are needed I had to determine through prayer, Bible study and revisiting the initial calling of Compass Point the hills to die on.  What are the two or three things worth fighting for that I will not let the leadership of Compass Point or myself walk away from?  They come down to this:

Vision The vision of Compass Point is to reach people far from God with the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  While creating community, discipleship and programming is important…they cannot trump the initial calling…and vision…that God gave Compass Point.  Everything we do, teach or lead has to point to the vision we’ve been given as a church.

People Far From God If our vision and calling it to reach people far from God with the Gospel…then they have to be the priority when making plans, taking steps and implementing ideas.  They have to be the number one focus when making disciples.  I am truly humbled by the several dozen we have seen come to know the Lord and be baptized this year…but there are many more in Polk County heading for Hell.

Doctrine In a time where the standards of Christianity are being lowered in order to not offend…and relevance trumps authenticity…good sound Biblical doctrine is a hill to die on for me.  I have not been called to make people like the truths of God’s Word…I’ve just been called to preach it…without compromise.  This has cost us people and leaders in the past…I can live with that.  Better people leave Compass Point…than the Holy Spirit.

Hills To Die On