When You Can’t See The Flock For The Sheep

One of the toughest jobs as the Senior Pastor of Compass Point is not getting too fixated on one sheep so that you jeopardize the entire flock.  Like every pastor of a small church I know most everybody in my congregation.  It’s easy to let that knowledge and love for one affect the decision you have to make for the whole.  I was called to the lead a flock…and the entire flock is where my heart, mind, prayer, prep and decisions have to be. It’s easy to let one sheep tick you off so you bash the entire flock from the pulpit.  It’s easy for one sheep leaving make you forget that there are still dozens or hundreds or thousands of sheep still left in the flock.  It’s easy to lead the entire flock into danger because you are trying to accommodate the mediocrity, issues or lack of vision of one sheep.  It’s easy to let the criticism of one sheep drive you into paranoia concerning the flock as a whole.  It doesn’t mean I don’t love or agonize over the one sheep…it’s just that God called me to love and agonize over the entire flock.

When You Can’t See The Flock For The Sheep