The First Step To A Long Fall

A year ago I had the privilege to hang out with a group of senior/lead pastors from around the country in an informal setting.  We met up in Nevada for a great time of getting to know one other and sharing what God was doing in our churches.  One of the conversations turned to a well-known pastor that stepped down from his church because of an extra-marital affair.  There were various opinions expressed at the table about the subject and I remember us discussing that Satan could attack all of us that way if we were not careful.  To my surprise one of the pastors exclaimed, “It could never happen to me!”  and then went on to explain why he would not fall to sexual temptation.  Unfortunately that very pastor just stepped down from his church because of an extra-marital affair.

Pastors…church leaders…the minute that any of us develop such an arrogant and self-righteous spirit that we are able to say “it could never happen to me”…we take the first step to a very long fall.  “It could never happen me” is the first step to ignoring or setting aside proper accountability.  “It could never happen to me” is the first step to lowering our spiritual armor.  “It could never happen to me” is the first step to relying on our own strength and not God.  “It could never happen to me” is the first step to Satan totally destroying our churches, ministries, families and lives.  “It could never happen to me” is the first step to it happening…to you!!!

The First Step To A Long Fall