Invite, Salvation, Statement

This past Sunday was one of the days I live for…and Compass Point was created for.  We are called as a church to reach people far from God with the Good News of Jesus and help them grow as disciples.  This past Sunday it happened.  God moved in our midst…and it is not something we take lightly.

Currently I am preaching through James about unshakeable faith in God throughout the trials of life.  At the end of the sermon I gave people a chance to pray silently to turn their trials over to God…but not an altar call per se.  When the service ended Pastor Kyle introduced me to a young man that had just prayed to accept Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior!!!   Later Kyle told me that the last time the teen had gone to church was four years ago for his brother’s funeral…before that no church at all.  One of the guys in our Student Ministry had invited him to their mid-week Bible study and then to church this past Sunday.  The power of a personal invite is limitless!!!

As Kyle and I were talking I explained to him that I was so caught up in the moment of people turning burdens over to God that I forgot to give a true altar call with a salvation prayer.  Kyle’s response, “You don’t need an altar call when the Holy Spirit is moving…people just naturally respond”.

Invite, Salvation, Statement