I Gave Up The “Green Room”

I’m not sure where the practice originated…but I was a big fan of the Sunday “green room”.  You know that room or location on Sunday morning where the pastors and band members hang out by themselves eating snacks, watching the service via video or just generally shutting themselves off from the flock?  Being a portable church, Compass Point’s “green room” area was created by three walls and a black bed sheet connected by magnets to a suspended ceiling.  It provided a small level of privacy from people coming into the service and a nice area for me to look back over the sermon notes while the band was playing the worship set.  I would stay there until time for me to preach.  It was cool…I felt like a rock star…I was able to avoid “distractions”…I was left alone.

Here was my problem…I was also missing out on actual worship.  From my “green room” I could hear everything being played, sung or said…yet I wasn’t an active participant.  I was not entering into that presence of God during worship that others in my congregation were.  I was sitting back critiquing the singing, the production, the execution by the band, how set up went and whether our cafe had enough coffee choices.  I was missing out on truly worshipping a living God right before I was going to preach about a living God.  I was not experiencing what I was preaching…and I was a hypocrite.  So I gave up the “green room” and started sitting on the front row for the entire Sunday experience.

Next post I’ll explain why I intentionally sit on the front row for worship.

I Gave Up The “Green Room”