Invisible People

It’s no secret that Compass Point shut down our offices so we could put more money into global ministry.  It’s sounds cool…but some days finding a place to meet or work just sucks.  On the other hand it has caused some pretty interesting relationships to form.  One for me is Harvey.  Harvey is homeless.

A couple of days a week Harvey ends up with some “pocket change” so he heads to a local coffee shop to hang out and fill his thermos with coffee.  One day I was at the coffee shop working because they have free wi-fi.  Harvey saw me working and started asking me some questions about the Internet.  One thing led to another and I ended up buying him lunch (the shop also makes the BEST gumbo in town).    These days I see Harvey a couple a times of month…we hang out…talk…occasionally grab breakfast together.  Until he talked to me I never really noticed Harvey…which was my loss.  Harvey is mentally challenged.  Harvey lives in a tent.  Harvey doesn’t always smell too good.  Harvey is a LOT of fun to talk to.  Harvey is now my friend.

One day I asked Harvey about how local churches and Christians treated him.  His answer wrecked me…and convicted me.

“Mr. Chris I come to this coffee place a lot.  While I’m waiting for them to fill my jug (thermos) with joe I see people sitting around talking about God’s Bible.  Those people walk right past me when they leave this place like I’m invisible.  Invisible people need God’s Bible too.”

Invisible People